Senate Acquits Donald Trump, But SEVEN Republicans Voted with Democrats to Convict Him

Two impeachment trials, two acquittals. On Saturday the Senate found former president Donald Trump not guilty of inciting an insurrection, just one year after they acquitted him of abusing his power and obstructing justice.

All Democrats (and the two independents who caucus with them) voted to convict Trump, yet seven Republicans decided to cross party lines and vote with them.

Never forget the names of these Republican senators who voted to convict:

  • Richard Burr (NC)
  • Bill Cassidy (LA)
  • Susan Collins (ME)
  • Lisa Murkowski (AK)
  • Mitt Romney (UT)
  • Ben Sasse (NE)
  • Pat Toomey (PA)

Given that he was the only Republican to break party lines during Trump’s first impeachment trial, Mitt Romney’s vote comes as no surprise. And neither do those of Lisa Murkowski and Susan Collins. Although they didn’t vote to convict Trump during his first impeachment, they could not be expected to go along with the majority of the party again. Trump is now out of office and they had previously opposed him and his agenda in general.

Pat Toomey and Ben Sasse voted in favor of the impeachment trial’s constitutionality, so their votes are not necessarily a shock. But the two senators who stand out like sore thumbs are Richard Burr and Bill Cassidy.

Just last month Cassidy did not think Trump’s second impeachment trial was constitutional, yet he changed his mind this week by voting that it was and then finding Trump guilty. Burr, meanwhile, never voted in favor of the trial’s constitutionality but somehow wound up thinking that Trump incited insurrection.

Along with Pat Toomey, Burr has already announced that he will not seek reelection in 2022. They may not have to worry about being primaried, but the rest of them should.

Our Latest Articles