Trudeau Trumps Trump, Bans ALL Foreigners From Entering Canada

Per a National Post report, Canada is denying entry to people who aren’t Canadian citizens, permanent residents, diplomats, air crew or U.S. citizens.

Prime Minister Trudeau announced on Monday, March 16, 2020 in Ottawa that the American land border will stay open and Canadians abroad can still return to the country.

However, the doors are closed to foreigners. The government plans on continuing trade with other countries, but no visitors will be allowed to enter.

Trudeau also announced that the government is mandating airlines to conduct basic health assessments of individuals travelling to Canada, which includes citizens. The broad travel restrictions came about while Canada confirmed 320 cases of the Wuhan flu during the past the weekend.

During the past weekend, the government announced that any Canadians living abroad should try and come home by commercial means as quickly as possible. Foreign Affairs Minister François-Philippe Champagne announced that the government would no longer be able to carry out mass repatriation flights. Additionally, the incoming flights from abroad will be directed to only four airports in Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver and Calgary.

This measure will not affect American flights or other flights from the Caribbean or Mexico.

Last week, Health Minister Patty Hajdu discarded the idea of imposing a border travel ban between the United States and Canada.

“Canadians think we can stop this at the border. But what we see is a global pandemic, which means that border measures are highly ineffective and, in some cases, can create harm. We see that in countries that had the worst expressions, the tightest borders,” Hajdu commented on Friday, March 13, 2020.

Our Latest Articles