Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin Vows to Sign Constitutional Carry

On Friday, March 1, Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin said that he will sign Constitutional Carry legislation into law. By signing Constitutional Carry, Kentucky will become the 16th Constitutional Carry state.

Under Constitutional Carry, the requirement for residents to get a permit from the state in order to carry a firearm for self-defense is eliminated.

Two weeks after the Kentucky Senate passed Constitutional Carry by a 29-8 vote, the Kentucky House passed S.B. 150 with 60-37 vote margin.

Bevin was on record saying that S.B. 150 is a textbook example of “constitutional carry” and that the bill reaffirms the Second Amendment.

S.B. 150’s language is very clear:

“Persons aged twenty-one (21) or older, and otherwise lawfully able to possess a firearm, may carry concealed firearms or other concealed deadly weapons without a license in the same locations as persons with valid licenses.”

Constitutional Carry was signed into law earlier this week in Oklahoma.  Once S.B. 150 receives Bevin’s signature, Kentucky will join Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wyoming, and Vermont as the 16th constitutional carry state.

The hottest pro-Second Amendment fight in the nation, Constitutional Carry offers Second Amendment activists hope in times when gun control has been gaining ground in state legislatures nationwide.

With clear momentum on their side, pro-gun activists should make it a point to make every red state a constitutional carry state by 2024.

The fight to restore gun rights begins in a state legislature near you.

Our Latest Articles