47 House Republicans Vote To Codify Gay Marriage Into Law

Are some conservatives simply just progressives in first gear? A vote to codify homosexual marriage into federal law cleared the House chamber Tuesday, with 47 Republicans joining forces with Democrats to pass the legislation.

In a 267-157 vote, the House passed legislation that repealed the Defense of Marriage Act in addition to officially redefining marriage as a bond no longer exclusively held between men and women within United States federal law. The measure was dubbed the Respect for Marriage Act.

“This legislation guarantees that no married couple can be denied equal protection under federal law,” said House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA). “This is really very important: from tax provisions to Social Security benefits and more, even if the Court were to erase marriage freedom, God forbid.”

Well-known Republican supporters of the bill included Reps. Adam Kinzinger of Illinois and Liz Cheney of Wyoming. The two representatives are vicious enemies of former President Donald Trump.

A vote on the bill was held in response to the outcome of the Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization, which ultimately overturned Roe v. Wade, the landmark 1973 decision which forced legalized abortion upon every state in America.

Associate Justice Clarence Thomas infuriated the Left in a concurring opinion he penned on the issue which suggested the court should revisit other previous rulings inolving gay marriage and access to contraception. Democrats argued that such a ruling and resulting opinion meant it was time for action.

“We are here because, just three weeks ago, the Republican-controlled Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade: ripping away a woman’s freedom over her most intimate health decisions,” explained Pelosi. “These radical Justices took a wrecking ball to [the] precedent of the Court and privacy in the Constitution – and placed even more of our cherished freedoms on the chopping block.”

Republican representative Mike Johnson said the legislation is just an election-year gimmick intended to distract from the disastrous economy and skyrocketing inflation amid Joe Biden’s rule, who in many categories is polling lower than any recent United States president.

“There’s not a single Republican even talking about that or any of these other categories in the law,” commented Johnson, who serves as vice chairman of the House Republican Conference. “This is designed to divide the country. This bill is a shameful effort.”

The 47 Republicans who voted in favor of the bill can be found below:

Reps. Kelly Armstrong (N.D.)

Don Bacon (Neb.)

Cliff Bentz (Ore.)

Ken Calvert (Calif.)

Kat Cammack (Fla.)

Mike Carey (Ohio)

Liz Cheney (Wyo.)

John Curtis (Utah)

Rodney Davis (Ill.)

Mario Diaz-Balart (Fla.)

Tom Emmer (Minn.)

Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.)

Andrew Garbarino (N.Y.)

Mike Garcia (Calif.)

Carlos Gimenez (Fla.)

Tony Gonzales (Texas)

Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio)

Ashley Hinson (Iowa)

Darrell Issa (Calif.)

Chris Jacobs (N.Y.)

David Joyce (Ohio)

John Katko (N.Y.)

Adam Kinzinger (Ill.)

Nancy Mace (S.C.)

Nicole Malliotakis (N.Y.)

Brian Mast (Fla.)

Peter Meijer (Mich.)

Dan Meuser (Pa.)

Mariannette Miller-Meeks (Iowa)

Blake Moore (Utah)

Dan Newhouse (Wash.)

Jay Obernolte (Calif.)

Burgess Owens (Utah)

Scott Perry (Pa.)

Tom Rice (S.C.)

Maria Elvira Salazar (Fla.)

Mike Simpson (Idaho)

Elise Stefanik (N.Y.)

Bryan Steil (Wis.)

Chris Stewart (Utah)

Mike Turner (Ohio)

Fred Upton (Mich.)

David Valadao (Calif.)

Jefferson Van Drew (N.J.)

Ann Wagner (Mo.)

Michael Waltz (Fla.)

Lee Zeldin (N.Y.)

The legislation will now head to the Senate for a vote.

Support Big League Politics by making a donation today. You can also donate via PayPalVenmo or donate crypto. Your support helps us take on the powerful and report the truth that the mainstream media wants to silence. 

Our Latest Articles